Sayaka Ganz

Sayaka Ganz is a Japanese artist who creates these beautiful animals with plastic household objects. The movement of the pieces are surprisingly real. It is a shock to the imagination.
Her work is collected and exhibited in London, Tokyo, Takaoka, Isle of Man, New York, San Francisco, Monterey, Toledo and Fort Wayne.

She says in her statement “I spent my early childhood in Japan but I grew up in several different countries. Japanese Shinto beliefs are such that all objects and organisms have spirits, and I was taught in kindergarten that objects that are discarded before their time weep at night inside the trash bin. This became a vivid image in my mind. The constant need to adjust to a new environment also gave me a strong desire to fit in and to create harmony around me. I only select objects that have been used and discarded. My goal is for each object to transcend its origin by being integrated into an animal/ organic forms that are alive and in motion. This process of reclamation and regeneration is liberating to me as an artist.”

about art and design - sayaka ganz

about art and design - sayaka ganz

about art and design - sayaka ganz

about art and design - sayaka ganz

about art and design - sayaka ganz

Screen shot 2013-02-27 at 10.44.05

about art and design - sayaka ganz

about art and design - sayaka ganz

Leave a Reply

