LoveJordan Art

Samuel Jordan and Jonny Love love paper. They love it so much that they create these wonderful paper sculptures. We had a quick interview with Jonny Love about their work.

How would you describe your work
I use a varied body of material and concepts to create intricate and busy spaces. It is my fascination with the human desire to fill empty spaces and my own personal obsession with collecting insignificant visuals in every day magazines which influences and becomes part of my work. My work ranges from tiny Library’s in glass domes, vast city scapes in ink that roll on into the horizon seemingly forever, to collections of colour arranged across canvases.

Why Paper as a material?
Paper is packed with potential. Non more so than a clean, white, uncreased sheet. From this, you can change its colour, record your thoughts, share your dreams, express your love, print your memories, tell a story, share news…. I could go on and on, and this is even before I get to changing its shape. My fondness of paper started when my father taught me how to fold a piece into a crane which when pulled in a certain way, would flap its wings. It was an exciting and almost mysterious experience, perhaps even religious, something of which i feel only a magician could explain.
Paper is something of a huge pleasure now, the noise of scissors cutting into crisp white. Or pinching a fold between your nails to create a sharp edge. Or opening an expensive glossy magazine for the first time, revealing its vibrant inner soul. You see for me its more than just paper. Its love.

I love the archives, where did this idea come from?
I love books and have a vast collection. Currently i am acquiring books faster than i can read, even more so the busier i become. The Archives represents all the material I am yet to read. Using white paper perfectly represented my feelings of the unread books – I am yet to know what story/pictures/information they hold, so to me they are blank. It would be marvelous if by some Hocus Pocus when i do start reading them, the Archives with bloom into colour.

Do you have any show coming up where we can see all your artwork?
Wimbledon Open Studios Art Show, May 16th-19th 🙂

Writers block library

writers block collage

the_untidy_attic

the_untidy_attic_collage

the_archives

The Unsorted Akashic Records

tax_return_nightmare

paper city

Leave a Reply

