Kjell Folkvord

I am not a fan of abstract painting but I love the work of Kjell Folkvord. Originally from Norway, Kjell works in London at the moment.
His paintings are so colourful and full of life that they make me want to sing and dance. They are happy, and I am a happy person so maybe that is why I love them. You can see imaginary little worlds there, they are fantastic

In his artistic statement he says “My paintings are usually colourful. The colours are the letters in my painting’s language. They are syllables more than they represent reality in the world. I usually try to tell a story, and the image I have in my mind or memory, in my emotional layers. And when I do paint and work with a colour, this colour starts asking for a friend of his and I have to find it, or mix it. This is perhaps humanising the colours but that is how I sometimes feel.”

Kjell folkvord

Kjell folkvord

Kjell folkvord

Kjell folkvord

Kjell folkvord

Kjell folkvord

Kjell folkvord

Kjell folkvord

Leave a Reply

